About Us

The Coon Rapids Police Department is a 24-hour law enforcement agency, handling over 50,000 calls for service each year. The Department has 65 sworn MN P.O.S.T. licensed police officers, 7 full-time support staff, 5 part-time Community Service Officers and 18 volunteer Reserve Officers.

The Department has a Police Chief, 3 Captains, 7 Sergeants, and 9 Detectives - 4 of which serve as School Liaison Officers in the high school, two middle schools and Rivertrail Learning Center.

Currently the department has 2 canine officers, 3 D.A.R.E. Officers and 3 officers assigned to the Community Oriented Policing and Problem Solving (COPPS) unit who work with rental housing communities and businesses in the city.

2 officers are also assigned to the Anoka-Hennepin Narcotics and Violent Crime Task Force.